Shaping better health
REMEDY : BNSSG referral pathways

Recurrent Miscarriage

Checked: 01-08-2018 by Rob.Adams Next Review: 01-08-2019


There is information on Recurrent Miscarriage and when to refer in CKS.

These guidelines suggest referral to investigate the cause of recurrent miscarriage for all women who have had:

  • Three or more miscarriages before 10 weeks of gestation.
  • One or more morphologically normal fetal losses occurring after 10 weeks gestation.


NBT and UHB both have clinics where patients with recurrent miscarriage can be referred via eReferral.

Referrals for patients with recurrent miscarriage should not be referred to fertility clinics in the first instance unless a couple have failed to conceive for 2 years as per the BNSSG Infertility policy.

NBT Recurrent Miscarriage Clinic see patients who have had 3 or more miscarriages in succession. Suggested investigations prior to referral include - thrombophilia screen, anticardiolipin antibody test, autoimmune profile, FBC, TSH, FSH, LH and estradiol on day 2-5 on Female partner. They also produce a Recurrent Miscarriage PIL for patients.

UHB Reproductive Medicine Clinic will also see patients with recurrent miscarriage.

Advice and Guidance is also available via eReferral in both these trusts.